Monday, January 16, 2017

Throw Back Thursday – Canadian Heavyweight Title – 100 years of history

Canadian Heavyweight Title






Pre-NWA Versions

Pat Connolly 1914/06<
Recognized in Vancouver.

Jack Taylor 1919<
Loses to Jack Forsgren, who is recognized as champion on the west coast, on 33/02/03 in Vancouver, BC but continues to defend the title.
Earl McCready 1933/04/20 Calgary, AB
Still champion as of 33/05/09; defeats Forsgren on 34/12/13 in Vancouver, BC (non-title?); Forsgren loses his version of the title to Pat Meehan on 39/02/10 in Calgary, AB; McCready defeats Meehan on 40/01/11 in Vancouver, BC (non-title?).

Walter Anderson  1920/02<
Introduced as a champion on a Colorado paper.

Jack Forsgren 1932/09/05 Vancouver, BC
Defeats Ken North to be recognized as the “first” champion on the west coast; also defeats Jack Taylor, recognized in the prairie provinces, on 33/02/03 in Vancouver, BC (Taylor continues to defend his version of the title).
Pat Meehan 1939/02/10 Calgary, AB

Earl McCready 1941/05
Recognized as champion in Toronto, ON.
Whipper Billy Watson 1941/06/05 Toronto, ON
Earl McCready [2] 1941/06/12 Toronto, ON
Still champion as of 41/07/19; title retired

Harold Nelson 1947/06/26<
Recognized as champion in Winnipeg, MB.

Different versions between 1940s and 1986
Calgary ( 1940s – 1970 )
Maritimes ( 1977 )
Toronto ( 1978/12 – 1984/07 )
Vancouver ( 1982/05 – 1986 )

Post-1993 NWA Version

(as of 2014/04/12)
National Wrestling Alliance (1998/10 – 2013/03)
Elite Canadian Championship Wrestling (2013/03 -)

E.Z. Ryder 1998/10/24 Cherry Hill, NJ
Defeats Paul Atlas.
Michelle Starr 1999/06/26 Winnipeg, MB
E.Z. Ryder [2] 1999/07/25 Victoria, BC
Crusher Carlsen 1999/11/27 Winnipeg, MB
Vacant in 00/09.
E.Z. Ryder [3] 2001/10/13 St. Petersburg, FL
Defeats Juggernaut.
Spyder 2001/12/09 St. Boniface, MB
Defeats Ryder and Baron Von Meaner in 3-way match.
Brian Sylver 2002/03/08 Winnipeg, MB
Spyder [2] 2002/03/10 Winnipeg, MB
The Machine 2002/09/08 Winnipeg, MB
Title held up by NWA President Jim Miller.
Spyder [3] 2002/10/18 Winnipeg, MB
Defeats The Machine in rematch; stripped on 03/03/07 when Spyder is suspended from NWA.
Zack Mercury 2003/03/07 Winnipeg, MB
Defeats Brian Jewel.
Brian Jewel 2003/05/17 Winnipeg, MB
Stripped on 03/07/10.
Rob Stardom 2003/09/24 Ft. Garry, MB
Defeats The Axe.
Kerry Brown 2004/05/07 Winnipeg, MB
Vid Vain 2004/10/15 Winnipeg, MB
Michelle Starr [2] 2005/09/16 Port Coquitlam, BC
R.A.G.E. 2006/02/17 Vancouver, BC
Vance Nevada 2006/06/23 Surrey, BC
Freddy Funk 2006/10/27 Surrey, BC
Cole Bishop 2007/05/25 Surrey, BC
Defeats Funk and Michelle Starr in a 3-way match.
Scotty Mac 2008/03/28 Surrey, BC
Sid Sylum 2010/04/10 Surrey, BC
Scotty Mac [2] 2010/10/02 Vancouver, BC
Tony Baroni 2011/03/05 Vancouver, BC
Reigning ECCW champion, defeats Mac to unify both titles.
Artemis Spencer 2011/12/03 Vancouver, BC
ECCW Title is deunified on 11/12/23.
Bishop 2012/02/25 Vancouver, BC
Continues to be billed as an NWA title after ECCW leaves NWA in 12/09.
King of the Yukon 2012/12/08 Vancouver, BC
No longer billed as an NWA title after 13/03.
Scotty Mac [3] 2013/03/23 Port Coquitlam, BC
Nelson Creed 2013/09/14 Vancouver, BC
Defeats Mac and Kenny Lush in a 3-way match.
Tony Baroni [2] 2014/03/15 Vancouver, BC
Defeats Creed, Ethan H-D, and the King of Yukon in a 4-way match.

Comments are closed.